News ID: 188
Publish Date: 17 July 2022
Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyed Ali Khamenei extended the tenure of three clerics in the Constitutional Council on Saturday.

Leader reinstates three clerics to Iran’s Constitutional Council

In separate decrees on Saturday, Ayatollah Khamenei reappointed Ahmad Jannati, Seyed Mohammad Reza Modarresi Yazdi and Mahdi Shabzendedar as the members of the Constitutional Council.

The term of the three Faqihs as the member of the Council had expired after six years.

The Constitutional Council is one of the most important and powerful bodies within the Islamic Republic of Iran’s fabric of governance. The Council’s constitutional mandates include interpretation of the Constitution, supervision of elections (approval or disapproval of candidates seeking to run in parliamentary, presidential, and Assembly of Experts elections) and the vetting of legislation passed by the country’s Parliament.

The Council is comprised of twelve members: Six Faqihs and six jurists. The Faqihs (Islamic jurists) are appointed by the Leader of the Islamic Revolution, and the jurists are nominated by the head of the Judiciary Branch and confirmed by Parliament. According to Article 91 of the Constitution, the members are elected to serve for a period of six years.


Your Comment
* Comment:
* :