News ID: 194
Publish Date: 26 July 2022
Iranian lawmakers voted for Abbas-Ali Kadkhodaei, Kheirollah Parvin and Siamak Rahpeik as three new jurist members of the Constitutional Council, the country’s top supervisory and legislative body.

Iran’s parliament okays new jurists for Constitutional Council

According to the public relations office of the Constitutional Council, Kadkhodaie, Parvin and Rahpeik respectively secured 182, 149 and 116 votes on Tuesday.

The vote took place after Judiciary Chief Gholam-Hossein Mohseni Ejei introduced six candidates for the position. Ali Ahmadi-Far, Abdol-Hamid Mortazavi and Fazlollah Mousavi failed to garner the necessary votes to be elected as a jurist member of the Council.

A PhD graduate of international law from the University of Leeds in West Yorkshire, England, Mr.  Kadkhodaei is the head of the Constitutional Council’s Research Institute and also a full professor of law at Tehran University.

Mr. Rahpeik is currently the deputy head of the Constitutional Council and holds a PhD in Private Law. Mr. Parvin is a PhD graduate of public law from the Lebanese University.

The 12-strong body consists of six Faqihs appointed by the Leader and six jurists nominated by the Judiciary and confirmed by parliament.

According to Article 92 of the Constitution, members of the Council are elected to serve for a period of six years, but during the first term, after three years have passed, half of the members of each group will be changed by lot and new members will be elected in their place.

Your Comment
* Comment:
* :